From GLW in 2011 to Senior Year 2013

Although I realize I only have a total of 30 views on my blog (over the course of 2 years) , I wanted to explain why I never gave an update on my experience at the Girls’ Leadership Workshop at Val- Kil!

During the trip I had limited access to a computer and after the trip I was back into the full swing of school work and activities. Writing a virtually unread blog fell from my list of priorities! ( Do you blame me?) But that does not mean that I didn’t  learn anything on the trip and workshop. In fact I learned so much about leadership and social justice. And met some of the most inspiring people there.

I have kept in touch with many of ‘my girls’ and we have even discussed possibly having a reunion in the future. Not all of us have kept in close contact but those who have shared their current lives with our group are certainly succeeding today! On of the girls who I spent a lot of time with at the camp has spearheaded an effort in Ethiopia to de-worm women and children in need.  Another girl has written songs for the anti-bullying movement and performed to audiences.

The girls mentioned above really took their individual social justice projects very seriously and I admire them for their diligence and hard work.  Other girls though, I believe, used their experience at the camp for more practical purposes like to gain valuable leadership skills or learn more about the issues going on around our world.  Maybe some of us who attended GLW have learned but have not had the opportunity/confidence/focus or resources to properly utilize our leadership skills. That is completely fine. I hope though, that when they do get the opportunity, reach that level of confidence, attain focus or acquire the correct resources that they will be excellent leaders.

I can honestly say that I would not be surprised to see one of my girls as the President of the United States someday. That is how highly I think of them!

I have this irrational and crazy belief that potential is limitless….

Until next post,

Emma

p.s.

(I am a Senior in High School.And am actually terrified about what my future will hold! I need to keep telling myself that IF I do work smart and be a diligent student, I will be successful and happy and make a difference in the world!)

Leave a comment